1300 785 277

Wellington East

Located at the junction of the Murray River and Lake Alexandrina, Wellington was named by John Morphett in 1836 and settled in 1838. The first South Australian ferry on the Murray River was established at Wellington in 1846 and it was the only point where travellers could cross the river in South Australia for many years.
Wellington is home to one of the oldest continually operating hotels in the state. Visitors can also explore the original courthouse and police station, now a museum, bed and breakfast, and tea rooms. Today, Wellington is a relaxed holiday town. The free 24-hour ferry is still the only way to cross the river at Wellington.

Subscribe to our eNewsletter

Click here to subscribe online >

Contact Council

Coorong District Council

95-101 Railway Terrace, Tailem Bend SA 5260

PO Box 399, Tailem Bend SA 5260

Call: 1300 785 277

council@coorong.sa.gov.au

Stay Connected

Share

Map
Top