1300 785 277

Council Elections

About Local Government Elections

In South Australia, council elections are held every four years. Council elections allow voters the opportunity to choose who they wish to represent them on Council.

The most recent election was held in 2018. The next general election will occur in 2022.

Unlike State and Federal elections, it is not compulsory to vote in South Australian council elections and voting is carried out by post.

Coorong District Council is divided into three Wards for the purposes of local government elections:

  • Parks Ward
  • Mallee Ward
  • Lakes Ward

Please view a map of Ward boundaries here.

The 2018 election results are available on the Electoral Commission SA website.

Current Council Member contact details are available here.

More information about enrolling to vote, nominating as a candidate for election, or voting in the election, is available at the Local Government Association SA website.


More information:

Local Government Association SA: Local Government Elections

Electoral Commission of South Australia:ECSA

In this Section

Subscribe to our eNewsletter

Click here to subscribe online >

Contact Council

Coorong District Council

95-101 Railway Terrace, Tailem Bend SA 5260

PO Box 399, Tailem Bend SA 5260

Call: 1300 785 277


Stay Connected