Coorong District Council response measures to Novel Coronavirus (COVID-19)

The Coronavirus (COVID-19) pandemic is a global crisis, and our Council has a key role to play in limiting the spread and impact of it.

Our leaders are staying up to date on the latest advice from the State and Federal Governments, and relevant Government health agencies.

Residents who are experiencing financial hardship may seek assistance from Coorong District Council by entering into a long-term payment arrangement. Information is available on our Financial Hardship page.

For more information please click here.

Update - 25 May 2020

The SA Government have released their Roadmap for Easing Covid-19 Restrictions.

Most Coorong District Council services have now resumed:

  • All playgrounds, parks (incl. dog parks and gardens) have been re-opened to the public.
  • All community toilets have been re-opened.
  • All halls can now open and community groups will be able to book facilities (groups are encouraged to contact Council to work through arrangements).
  • The Coonalpyn Caravan Park and Narrung Campground are now open to the public (including public toilet facilities).
  • Sporting facilities can open in accordance with the new measures in place.
  • Public library services:
    • Tailem Bend, Tintinara, Coonalpyn and Coomandook Community Libraries are still closed to the public, however all are offering a 'phone and collect service'.
    • Meningie Community Library will be opening to the public from 3:45pm - 4:30pm Monday to Friday, and from 10am - 1pm on Saturdays.
  • Tailem Rail Museum, Coorong Gallery and the Meningie Information Hub will be assessed in preparation for Council's executive team to make a decision on re-opening from 8 June 2020.

All Council facilities are receiving regular cleaning to ensure facilities are up to standard – however if you come across anything that requires attention please contact Council on 1300 785 277 so that we can attend to it.

Signs will be in place to remind users of their obligations to social distance. Everyone can play their part in slowing the spread of COVID-19 by practicing good hygiene, using hand sanitiser and wiping down equipment and surfaces before and after use.

Dismiss alert

Australia Day Awards

Australia Day

Coorong District Council proudly presents the Australia Day Citizen of the Year awards in partnership with the Australia Day Council of SA.

Nomination categories include:

  • Citizen of the Year Award
  • Young Citizen of the Year Award
  • Community Event of the Year Award
  • Community Projects(s) of the Year Award

Selection Criteria

In choosing the recipients of the Australia Day Citizen of the Year Awards, regard is given to the nominee’s achievements in the year immediately prior to receiving the award, as well as their past achievements and ongoing contribution to the community.

A nominee need only be nominated once to be considered. The number of nominations received per nominee bears no weight in their selection.

The selection criteria for Citizen of the Year and Young Citizen of the Year are:

  • Significant contribution to the community
  • An inspirational role model for the Australian community
  • The scope of impact the individual’s contribution has on the local government area

2020 Recipients

Citizen of the Year: Garry Hera-Singh, Maxine Kiddie, Naomi Stidiford

Community Event of the Year: Tailem Bend Christmas Parade and Cabaret

2019 Recipients

Citizen of the Year: Ian Qualmann, Jim & Jacki Cunningham, Lynton Piggott, Joyce Medlow

Community Event of the Year: Murraylands Ambrose, Scrambrose & LALA Classic

Community Project of the Year: Coorong Cottage Industries, Tintinara Nature Playground, and Tailem Bend Community Centre's 'Bucket List'

2018 Recipients

Citizen of the Year: Andrew Dawes, Bill & Margaret Jaensch

Community Event of the Year: Dr Temple Grandin Event, and Meningie Food, Fund & Family Fair

2017 Recipients

Citizen of the Year: Lesley Fisher, Nancy Daykin, Charlie Allen

Mayor's Award: Marianne Cunneen

2016 Recipients

Citizen of the Year: Denice Mason, Trevor Gordon, Brenton Jones

Mayor's Award: Bob Lewis, Peter Verrall