Coorong District Council response measures to Novel Coronavirus (COVID-19)

The Coronavirus (COVID-19) pandemic is a global crisis, and our Council has a key role to play in limiting the spread and impact of it.

Our leaders are staying up to date on the latest advice from the State and Federal Governments, and relevant Government health agencies.

Residents who are experiencing financial hardship may seek assistance from Coorong District Council by entering into a long-term payment arrangement. Information is available on our Financial Hardship page.

For more information please click here.

Update - 25 May 2020

The SA Government have released their Roadmap for Easing Covid-19 Restrictions.

Most Coorong District Council services have now resumed:

  • All playgrounds, parks (incl. dog parks and gardens) have been re-opened to the public.
  • All community toilets have been re-opened.
  • All halls can now open and community groups will be able to book facilities (groups are encouraged to contact Council to work through arrangements).
  • The Coonalpyn Caravan Park and Narrung Campground are now open to the public (including public toilet facilities).
  • Sporting facilities can open in accordance with the new measures in place.
  • Public library services:
    • Tailem Bend, Tintinara, Coonalpyn and Coomandook Community Libraries are still closed to the public, however all are offering a 'phone and collect service'.
    • Meningie Community Library will be opening to the public from 3:45pm - 4:30pm Monday to Friday, and from 10am - 1pm on Saturdays.
  • Tailem Rail Museum, Coorong Gallery and the Meningie Information Hub will be assessed in preparation for Council's executive team to make a decision on re-opening from 8 June 2020.

All Council facilities are receiving regular cleaning to ensure facilities are up to standard – however if you come across anything that requires attention please contact Council on 1300 785 277 so that we can attend to it.

Signs will be in place to remind users of their obligations to social distance. Everyone can play their part in slowing the spread of COVID-19 by practicing good hygiene, using hand sanitiser and wiping down equipment and surfaces before and after use.

Dismiss alert

Ordinary Council Meetings

Coorong District Council meets on the third Tuesday of each month (excepting June - fourth Tuesday) commencing at 2:00pm (meetings will revert back to 6pm when public health emergency provisions are lifted), at the Coorong Civic Centre Chambers, 95-101 Railway Terrace, Tailem Bend.

Click here to view the list of Council Agendas & Minutes

Important Notice regarding Public Attendance

On 31 March 2020, Local Government Minister Stephan Knoll issued the first COVID-19 related emergency variations to the Local Government Act 1999 – in the form of the Electronic Participation in Council Meetings Notice (No 1) 2020. This Notice allows council meetings to be conducted by electronic means.

From 7 April 2020 and onwards (while COVID-19 social distancing measures are required), Council meetings have been held with Council Members participating via electronic means.

With the easing of COVID-19 restrictions, Council can now accommodate up to 11 members of the public in the Chambers during Council meetings.

In order to manage these limited spots a booking system has been created - residents are asked to contact Council's customer service team on 1300 785 277 or email to secure a place in the public gallery.

Upcoming Council meetings will also be recorded and livestreamed, ensuring the meetings are accessible to all members of the public. Meeting recordings will be uploaded to Council's YouTube channel.

Members of the public who would like to submit a question during Public Question Time are asked forward questions through to Council in writing by midday the day before the scheduled meeting, so that answers can be provided to all questions submitted.

Meeting dates for 2020

The 2020 Council meeting dates were adopted at the 15 October 2019 ordinary meeting:

21 January 2020
18 February 2020
17 March 2020
21 April 2020
19 May 2020
23 June 2020
21 July 2020
18 August 2020
15 September 2020
20 October 2020
17 November 2020
15 December 2020

* Council made a commitment to hold one ordinary meeting in the Parks Ward and one ordinary meeting in the the Lakes Ward during 2020. May and October were originally flagged, however these dates will be revisited once current COVID-19 public health emergency measures are no longer in place.